In which climatic zone is Nepal located?

The great majority of Nepal’s population occupies the tropical and subtropical climate zones.

Which type of climate is found in Nepal?

In Nepal, there are different climates according to altitude: the sub-tropical climate with a rainy season in the southern flat strip, the temperate climate in the low mountains, and finally, the cold mountain climate in the peaks of the Himalayas.

How many climatic zones are found in Nepal?

Climate of Nepal

Apart from the five climatic zones, Nepal also experiences five seasons; spring, winter, autumn, monsoon, and summer.

Which climate zone is Kathmandu Nepal?

Of these, Kathmandu Valley is in the Warm Temperate Zone (elevation ranging from 1,200 to 2,300 metres (3,900 to 7,500 ft)), where the climate is fairly temperate, atypical for the region. This zone is followed by the Cool Temperate Zone with elevation varying between 2,100 and 3,300 metres (6,900 and 10,800 ft).

Which region of Nepal has moderate climate?

The Kathmandu Valley has a pleasant climate with average summer temperatures of 20°C – 35°C and 2°C – 12°C in winter. Average temperatures in Nepal drop 6°C for every 1,000 m you gain in altitude.

IT IS SURPRISING:  How much energy is saved by recycling jars or bottles?

Is Nepal in the northern or southern hemisphere?

Nepal is located in Southern Asia in the northern hemisphere. It is a relatively small, landlocked country sandwiched between giant India to the west, south and east and to the north by China, which forcibly invaded and annexed Tibet in 1959.

Where are the climate zones?

The Earth has three main climate zones: tropical, temperate, and polar. The climate region near the equator with warm air masses is known as tropical. In the tropical zone, the average temperature in the coldest month is 18 °C.

In which climatic region does Nepal lie mention the characteristic of this climatic region?

Nepal lies in the temperate region of the world when sun’s rays are moderate so it have tropical monsoon climate.

What type of climate is found in Nepal and Bhutan?

Bhutan encompasses a wide range of climates, from the hot and humid jungles of the southern foothills to the frigid, snowcapped peaks in the north. Broadly speaking, like Nepal, the country’s climate can be divided into four seasons: spring, summer/monsoon, autumn and winter. Winter lasts from December to February.

What are the different types of climates?

There are approximately five main climate types on Earth:

  • Tropical.
  • Dry.
  • Temperate.
  • Continental.
  • Polar.

What is the temperature in Nepal in December?

December is the beginning of the winter season. The average high temperatures are around 15°C (about 59°F) reaching highs on average of 21°C (70°F) and dropping to an average minimum temperature of8°C (46°F).