What are three areas of critical biodiversity?

What are the three ecosystems that are areas of critical biodiversity? Tropical Rainforests, Coral Reefs, and Islands.

What are the areas of critical biodiversity?

Critical Biodiversity Areas (CBA) are terrestrial (land) and aquatic (water) areas which must be safeguarded in their natural or near-natural state because they are critical for conserving biodiversity and maintaining ecosystem functioning.

What are the four areas of critical biodiversity?

Critical areas means any of the following areas or ecosystems: critical aquifer recharge areas, fish and wildlife habitat conservation areas, frequently flooded areas, geologically hazardous areas, and wetlands as defined by the Growth Management Act (Chapter 36.70A RCW) and this chapter.

What are 3 biodiversity examples?

Biodiversity includes three main types: diversity within species (genetic diversity), between species (species diversity) and between ecosystems (ecosystem diversity).

What are the 3 types of diversity that make up biodiversity?

Three components of biodiversity are ecosystem, species and genetic diversity.

What do all of the biodiversity hotspots have in common?

To qualify as a biodiversity hotspot, a region must meet two strict criteria: It must have at least 1,500 vascular plants as endemics — which is to say, it must have a high percentage of plant life found nowhere else on the planet. A hotspot, in other words, is irreplaceable.

IT IS SURPRISING:  How does habitat destruction affect sharks?

What are the 4 types of biodiversity?

Four Types of Biodiversity

  • Species Diversity. Every ecosystem contains a unique collection of species, all interacting with each other. …
  • Genetic Diversity. Genetic diversity describes how closely related the members of one species are in a given ecosystem. …
  • Ecosystem Diversity. …
  • Functional Diversity.

Where are many critical biodiversity hotspots located?


Question Answer
What are 3 areas of the United States represent ecosystems with high levels of biodiversity? coastal California, Hawaiian Islands, and Florida Everglades
Where are many critical biodiversity hotspots located? islands, tropical rain forests, and coastal areas

How many types of biodiversity conservation are there?

Conservation can broadly be divided into two types: In-situ: Conservation of habitats, species and ecosystems where they naturally occur. This is in-situ conservation and the natural processes and interaction are conserved as well as the elements of biodiversity.

What are the 3 types of diversity science?

Biodiversity is commonly broken down into three levels or types: genetic diversity, species diversity, and ecosystem diversity.

What are some examples of biodiversity?

Most people recognize biodiversity by species—a group of individual living organisms that can interbreed. Examples of species include blue whales, white-tailed deer, white pine trees, sunflowers, and microscopic bacteria that can’t even be seen by the naked eye.

What are 3 causes of decreased biodiversity?


  • Climate change.
  • Pollution.
  • Destruction of habitats.
  • Invasive alien species.
  • Overexploitation of the natural environment.
  • Extinction of species.
  • Threat to human beings.
  • Proliferation of pests.