Which is protected under Wildlife Act 1972?

The Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972 is an Act of the Parliament of India enacted for protection of plants and animal species. … The Act provides for the protection of wild animals, birds and plants; and for matters connected therewith or ancillary or incidental thereto. It extends to the whole of India.

What wildlife is protected under Wildlife Protection Act?

The Wildlife Protection Act protects all kinds of animals from amphibians to birds, mammals, and reptiles under Section 2(1). The definition is exhaustive and can accommodate a variety of animals within the scope of protection.

IT IS SURPRISING:  How does climate change affect Australian animals?

What are the main objects of Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

The Wildlife (Protection) Act 1972 is a hallmark in the history of wildlife protection in our Nation. This Act prohibits the hunting of wild animals. It prohibits the damage, collection, uprooting and possession or selling of any specified plant from any protected area or a forest land.

What does the Wildlife Protection Act protect?

The Wildlife Protection Act’s main goal is to rescue the over one hundred globally threatened species in Belize from local extinction. The National List of Critical Native Species includes 11 Critically Endangered Species, 31 Endangered Species and 63 Vulnerable Species.

How many type of protected areas are provided by the Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

There are four categories of protected areas in India, constituted under the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972.

When did Wildlife Protection Act 1972 came into force?

Wildlife Protection Act 1972 was passed on August 21, 1972, but was later implemented on September 9, 1972.

Which is the only state in India where Wildlife Protection Act 1972 not applicable?

Short title, extent and commencement. —(1) This Act may be called the Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972. 3[(2) It extends to the whole of India except the State of Jammu and Kashmir.]

Which one of the following is the main objective of the Wildlife Protection Act 1972 as amended upto 2003?

Wildlife Protection Act, 1972 (with Amendment Acts of 2003 and 2006): The act provides for the protection of wild animals, birds and plants and matters connected with them, with a view to ensure the ecological and environmental security of India.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Frequent question: What is landfill explain its advantages and disadvantages?

Why was Indian Wildlife Protection Act implemented class 10?

Since 1972, the Indian Wild Life Act has been enacted to protect wild plant and animal species. Hunting, farming and killing of animals is specifically forbidden in compliance with this Act. … The Wild Life Protection Act, 1972, is a plant and animal species protection act passed by the Parliament of India.

Which of the following is are have been provided for in the Wildlife Protection Act 1972 1 National Parks 2 wildlife sanctuaries 3 biosphere reserves?

UPSC Question. Both National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries have been provided for in the Wildlife (Protection ) Act, 1972. The Act provides for four type of protected areas viz. Wildlife Sanctuaries, National Parks, Conservation Reserves and Community Reserves.

What are the provisions in Wildlife Protection Act 1972 pertaining to an area as a national park and sanctuary which activities may be permitted or prohibited in such areas?

This act provides the provisions regarding the protection of Wildlife.

  • Introduction.
  • Sanctuaries.
  • Declaration of the sanctuary.
  • Collectors. Collector to determine rights. …
  • Acquisition of rights. Acquisition proceedings. …
  • Protection of Sanctuaries. …
  • Control of sanctuaries.
  • Immunization of live-stock.

Is Wildlife Protection Act applicable to Jammu and Kashmir?

After the enactment of Jammu & Kashmir Reorganization Act, 2019 by the Parliament, the Jammu & Kashmir Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1978 was repealed was the Central Act, i.e; Wildlife Protection Act, 1972 became applicable to the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir.

What are protected areas Class 8?

Wildlife sanctuaries, National parks and Biosphere are the three types of protected area which have been earmarked for the conservation of forest and wildlife.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Frequent question: Are plastic school folders recyclable?

Which of the following is protected area?

Protected areas of India include National parks, Wildlife sanctuaries, biosphere reserves, reserved and protected forests, conservation and community reserves, communal forests, private protected areas and conservation areas.

What are the different types of protected areas?

In India, there are four categories of Protected areas constituted under the provisions of Wildlife ( Protection) ACT, 1972.

These are:

  • National Parks.
  • Wildlife Sanctuaries.
  • Conservation Reserves.
  • Community Reserves.