What are some ecological zones?

The five major Domains were Tropical, Subtropical, Temperate, Boreal and Polar. These were considered to divide the globe into five broad but ecologically valid units for global forest reporting, and the subzones provide more detailed categories where required within a broad zone.

What are the 4 ecological zones?

3.4 Characteristics of global Ecological Zones

  • 1 Tropical domain. Mean temperature of all months over 18oC. …
  • 2 Subtropical domain. At least 8 months above 10oC. …
  • 3 Temperate domain. …
  • 4 Boreal domain.

What are some examples of typical ecological zones?


Ecozone Area (Mkm2) Precipitation (mm/yr)
Polar-Subpolar (ice deserts, tundra) 22.0 100–250
Boreal (lichens, coniferous forests) 19.5 250–500
Temperate Midlatitudes (woodlands, forests) 14.5 500–1000
Dry Midlatitudes (grass steppes, semideserts) 16.5 < 400

What are the 5 ecological zones in Africa?

AEZ classification, shown in Figure 1, divides Africa into five ecosystem types depending upon temperature and precipitation: semi-arid, dry savannah, moist savannah, sub-humid, and humid forest.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Are Pronamel toothpaste tubes recyclable?

What are ecological areas?

Important ecological areas (IEAs) are habitat areas which, either by themselves or in a network, contribute significantly to an ecosystem’s productivity, biodiversity, and resilience. Appropriate management of key ecological features delineates the management boundaries of an IEA.

What ecoregion is Houston in?

Houston is largely located within the Northern Humid Gulf Coast Prairies level IV ecoregion (34a), a subset of the Western Gulf coastal grasslands level III region as defined by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

What are the 7 ecoregions?

Ecoregions in the United States

  • Marine West Coast Forest.
  • Western Forested Mountains.
  • Mediterranean California.
  • North American Deserts.
  • Temperate Sierras.
  • Great Plains.
  • Eastern Temperate Forest.
  • Northern Forests.

What are the three ecological zones in Zambia?

Zambia is divided into three major agro-ecological regions (Regions I , II and III), which are primarily based on rainfall amount but also incorporate soils and other climatic characteristics.

What are the ecological zones in Ghana?

Ghana is categorized into six distinct agro-ecological zones based on the climatic conditions and the soil types. These are the Guinea savannah zone, Forest-savannah transition zone, Semi-deciduous forest zone, Sudan savannah zone, Coastal savannah zone and the Rain forest zone (moist and wet evergreen) [43].

How many ecological zones are in India?

India has a variety of landscapes and climate conditions and this is reflected in the development of different soils and types of vegetation. Based on 50 years of climate data and an up-to-date soil database, the country has been divided into 20 agro-ecological zones (AEZs).

What are the 4 vegetation zones in Africa?

Terms in this set (5)

  • What are the four (vegetation) zones of Africa? The Sahara, Sahel, Savannah, and the Rain Forest.
  • Which two West African rivers were important to early civilization? …
  • Describe the Niger and Senegal Rivers? …
  • Where was the Empire of Ghana located? …
  • What were the.
IT IS SURPRISING:  Best answer: Can Grow bags be recycled?

What are the ecological zones in Africa?

The resulting AEZ classifications for Africa have three dimensions: major climate zone (tropics or subtropics), moisture zones (water availability) and highland/lowland (warm or cool based on elevation).

What is the largest ecological zone in Africa?

In South Africa, the largest highland area is the Highveld Region, which is more than 1000 m in altitude, bordered by the Drakensberg reaching more than 3000 m. Southward, in the Cape Region, the mountain ranges also belong to this Ecological Zone.

How many ecological diversity zones are there in the world?

IUCN prepares ‘Red Data Book’. There are 34 areas around the world which are qualified as Biodiversity hotspots. These hotspots represent only 2.3% of the total Earth’s land surface. These hotspots are important because Biodiversity underpins all life on Earth.

What are the ecological zones in Nigeria?

3.2 Ecological Zones of Nigeria

The ecological zones in Nigeria are based on Keay (1949), and are defined from South to North as follows: Mangrove Swamp and Coastal Vegetation, Freshwater Swamp Forest, Lowland Rain Forest, Derived Savanna, Guinea Savanna, Sudan Savanna, and Sahel Savanna.

What ecoregion is Missouri in?

The Ozark Highlands is a Level III ecoregion designated by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in four U.S. states.

Ozark Highlands (ecoregion)

Ozark Highlands ecoregion
Country United States
States Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma
Climate type Humid subtropical (Cwa)