Which traditional climate zone is dominated by acacia vegetation?

What is Ethiopia’s traditional climate classification?

In Ethiopia, this variation in climate is traditionally divided into three main climatic zones: Dega, Weyna Dega and Kolla. The first of these – Dega – refers to coldish, less than temperate zones with altitudes ranging between 2,600 and 3,200m. The second zone – Weyna Dega – is warm, wet and lies below 2,600m.

What is the climate zone of Ethiopia?

Ethiopia is in the tropical zone laying between the Equator and the Tropic of Cancer.

What are the 4 major climate zones?

According to this classification system, four major climatic belts―equatorial, tropical, mid-latitude and arctic (Antarctic), which are dominated by equatorial, tropical, polar and arctic (Antarctic) air masses respectively―are differentiated in the globe.

How many climate zones are there in Ethiopia?

Overall, Ethiopia is considered largely arid, but exhibits a high variability of precipitation Ethiopia’s climate is generally divided into three zones: 1) the alpine vegetated cool zones (Dega) with areas over 2,600 meters above sea level, where temperatures range from near freezing to 16°C; 2) the temperate Woina …

IT IS SURPRISING:  What are the most common environmental hazards found in industrial areas?

Which climatic controls are dominant in Ethiopia?

The climate of Ethiopia is therefore mainly controlled by the seasonal migration of the Intertropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ) and associated atmospheric circulations as well as by the complex topography of the country.

What is the vegetation in Ethiopia?

3. Ethiopian vegetation types and distribution

Vegetation types Altitude
1 Afroalpine & sub-afroalpine 3200–4533 m
2 Dry evergreen montane & grassland complex 1800–3000 m
3 Moist evergreen montane forest 500–2600 m
4 Acacia-Commiphora woodland 900–1900 m

Which traditional climate zone is associated with Afro Alpine areas?

The cold, moist temperate zone covers the Afro-alpine areas on the highest plateaus between 3,200 and 3,500 m; average temperatures are below 10°C and annual rainfall averages less than 800 mm.

What are temperate zones?

the part of the earth’s surface lying between the tropic of Cancer and the Arctic Circle in the Northern Hemisphere or between the tropic of Capricorn and the Antarctic Circle in the Southern Hemisphere, and characterized by having a climate that is warm in the summer, cold in the winter, and moderate in the spring and …

What are the climatic conditions in Ethiopia?

In Ethiopia, the climate varies mostly with altitude, and it goes from the hot and arid climate of the lowlands to the cool climate of the plateau. Lying just north of the Equator, the country experiences little variation in temperature throughout the year.

What are the 5 main climate zones?

one of five classifications of the Earth’s climates: tropical, dry, mild, continental, and polar.

What are the 7 climate zones?

Climate Zones

  • A – Tropical Climates. Tropical moist climates extend north and south from the equator to about 15° to 25° latitude. …
  • B – Dry Climates. …
  • C – Moist Subtropical Mid-Latitude Climates. …
  • D – Moist Continental Mid-Latitude Climates. …
  • E – Polar Climates. …
  • H – Highlands.
IT IS SURPRISING:  What is the best way to start recycling?

Which zone is a tropical zone?

Right around the equator is the tropical climate zone. This zone is mostly found between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn. In some places it extends as wide as 30 degrees north and 30 degrees south latitude. Tropical climates receive a lot of sunlight and are very warm.