Your question: Is a stage of environmental clearance?

The environmental clearance process comprises of four stages, namely, Stage (1) Screening; Stage (2) Scoping; Stage (3) Public Consultation and Stage (4) Appraisal. Q. 14 What is Screening?

What is category A in environmental clearance?

All Category A projects require a ‘Prior Environmental Clearance’ (EC) from MoEF. Category A projects include all physical infrastructure whose size and cost is greater than certain minimum levels as defined in the Schedule. Environmental Clearances for these projects are granted at the Central level.

What is environmental clearance process?

The environmental clearance process is required for 39 types of projects and covers aspects like screening, scoping and evaluation of the upcoming project. The main purpose is to assess impact of the planned project on the environment and people and to try to abate/minimise the same.

What is Category A and B in environmental clearance?

Category A projects require mandatory environmental clearance and thus they do not undergo the screening process. Category B projects undergoes screening process and they are classified into two types. Category B1 projects (Mandatorily requires EIA). Category B2 projects (Do not require EIA).

IT IS SURPRISING:  Best answer: What do you mean by abiotic and biotic factors that affect the stored grains give two examples for each?

At what stage of the project does the environmental clearance have is required?

All units seeking environmental clearance under the Water or Air Acts or Authorisation under the Hazardous Wastes (Management & Handling) Rules, beginning 1993, are required to submit duly filled in environmental statements for the period ending 31 March on or before 30 September every year to the concerned State …

What is environmental clearance certificate?

What is an environmental clearance certificate? Environmental clearance is a procedure to get clearance from the government for certain projects which cause environmental pollution. Government has made a list of projects which need an environmental clearance like mining, thermal power plants, infrastructure etc.

What are Category A B1 and B2 projects?

Category A projects require mandatory environmental clearance and thus they do not have to undergo the screening process. Category B projects undergo a screening process and are further classified into B1 (Mandatorily requiring EIA) and B2 (Not requiring EIA).

Who needs environmental clearance certificate?

The Environmental Clearance Certificate is mandatory requirement for the project activities included in the Schedule of EIA notification dated 14th September 2006 { under Environment (Protection ) Act 1986} , before initiating any project related activities on the site .

What projects require environmental clearance?


  • Mining of Minerals.
  • Offshore and Onshore oil and gas exploration, development & production.
  • River Valley Projects.
  • Thermal Power Plants.
  • Nuclear Power Projects and Processing of Nuclear Fuel.

What is prior environmental clearance?

The prior environmental clearance in terms of 2006 notification issued under Section 3 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 Act read with Rule 5 of the Environment (Protection) Rules, 1986, is required to be taken before commencement of the “actual construction or building work” of the national highway by the …

IT IS SURPRISING:  How is the Environmental Protection Act enforced?

How many stages are there in EIA?

Stages of the EIA process

EIA has 5 main stages. If an EIA is required, an Environmental Assessment Impact Report will be written and submitted with the application for development consent. The public will have the chance to comment. This makes sure you’re given a chance to be involved in decision making.

What are the categories of EIA?

Classification of EIA:

  • Strategic EIA (SEIA):
  • Regional EIA:
  • Sectoral EIA:
  • Project Level EIA:
  • Life Cycle Assessment:

What are the steps in EIA process?

EIA: 7 Steps

  1. Scoping. Establish the boundaries of the EIA, set the basis of the analyses that will be conducted at each stage, describe the project alternatives and consult the affected public. …
  2. Impact Assessment & Mitigation. …
  3. Impact Management. …
  4. The EIA Report. …
  5. Review & Licensing. …
  6. Monitoring.